Warrior Cats

Have you heard about the warrior cats? Warriors is a very popular series of fantasy books for children. The series chronicles the adventures of four cat clans: ThunderClan, ShadowClan, WindClan, and RiverClan. These tribes, or clans, are made up of wild cats who live in the forest where they fight for they survival.

The series has been published under the pen name Erin Hunter; however, the novels were written alternatively by three authors: Cherith Baldry, Kate Cary, and Victoria Holmes. A fourth author, Tui Sutherland, has recently joined the ranks. The series was published by HarperCollins.

Warriors is divided into four sagas. Each saga consists of six books. The books of the first saga, Warriors, were released from 2003 through 2004. The first book of this series was Into the Wild.

The second saga was titled Warriors: The New Prophecy. The books of the second series were published from 2005 through 2006. The first novel of this saga was Midnight.

The second saga of the warriors cats was followed by Warriors: Power of Three, which was published between 2007 and 2009. The first book of the third series was The Sight.

Now the fans of this popular series are ready for the next installment. The first novel of the fourth saga Warriors: Omens of the Stars is set to be released in November 2009. This new novel is titled The Fourth Apprentice.

In addition to the Warriors series, other companion/supplemental books have been released. Firestar’s Quest and Bluestar’s Prophecy are two of these books. These tomes provide additional information on the main characters and some even cover the time between sagas.

The Warriors Cat Books


The first series focuses on Rusty (later Firepaw/Firheart) of the ThunderClan and Tigerclaw (later Tigerstar) of the ShadowClan. Rusty is a kitten who lives in a “twoleg” home (human household) who later finds out he is in truth a wild cat – one of the warrior cats who live in the forest. Tigerclaw is the antagonist of the first series.

The first series consists of the following books:

  • Into the Wild
  • Fire and Ice
  • Forest of Secrets
  • Rising Storm
  • A Dangerous Path
  • The Darkest Hour

Warriors: The New Prophecy

The second saga follows the comings and goings of Brambleclaw, Squirrelflight, and Leafpool – all members of ThunderClan.

The following books are part of the second series:

  • Midnight
  • Moonrise
  • Dawn
  • Starlight
  • Twilight
  • Sunset

Warriors: Power of Three

The third series revolves around three unique felines: Jayfeather, Hollyleaf, and Lionblaze. They are the offspring of Squirrelflight and Brambleclaw (the protagonists of the second saga), and grandchildren of Firestar (the main character of the first saga).

This series includes the following books:

  • The Sight
  • Dark River
  • Outcast
  • Eclipse
  • Long Shadows
  • Sunrise

Warriors: Omens of the Stars

According to the authors, the fourth saga of the cat warriors will focus on Dovekit and Ivykit, the daughters of Whitewing (she appears in the epilogue of Firestar's Quest) and Birchfall (from the New Prophecy saga).

The first two books of the series are:

  • The Fourth Apprentice - to be released in November, 2009
  • Fading Echoes

Other books based on the Warrior Cats

As I said at the beginning, HarperCollins has released other companion books and field guides, including:

  • Firestar’s Quest (super edition)
  • Bluestar’s Prophecy (super edition)
  • Secrets of the Clans (field guide)
  • Cats of the Clans (field guide)
  • Code of the Clans (field guide)

For additional information, you may visit the Warriors cats official website at www.warriorcats.com.

Do you have a favorite warrior cat? Mine is Rusty, the valiant kitten who rises up to become the leader of his clan.

Related Links

Literary Cats

The Cat in the Hat

The Cheshire Cat

Leave Warrior Cats and return to Cat Books

Return to the home page of Cat Lovers Gifts Guide

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.

Our Cats

Mia (1998-2010)

Mia the CatMia was lovely, courageous, and one of the wisest cats I've ever met. This site is dedicated to her memory.


Max the CatMax is our very own magical cat. He loves big mouse toys and is an avid bird watcher.

Sponsored Links

Coupon Code ECOFRIEND - 10% Off Eco-Friendly Dog &

tumblr visitor stats